RSS Feed

Since my last rant, I have kept up my denunciation of facebook.  And *gasp* yes, it can be lived without!  I really think that I don’t need to be nosing into 100+ of my closest friends’ lives. (that’s right, only 100, I was never the social butterfly) Nor do I think they miss me.

Social media seems great.  In fact, what I’m doing here is an outlet of it as well, I just feel much more obscure.  I just think it gives people a way to say and do things they would never do in person.  Which, I admit, can be helpful.  I’m using it as an outlet to get thoughts out…granted, I say these thoughts out loud….usually very loud…anyway.  Putting them in print just seems to help me remember them.

What I don’t agree with is letting it take over your whole existence.  I know some that post their every breath, but yet can’t take the time to pick up the phone or answer an e-mail to a friend or family.  E-mail…really, when you can’t even answer that anymore, what is the world coming to?!

I send the occasional text, e-mail, facebook message (when I participated), but I always followed up in person or by phone call (the antiquated device that is held up to the ear to speak through :) )  My teenage boys do not understand this concept.  If they can’t text, life is over.  I am all for technological advances, but to live in the world for a period of time, there does have to be face to face, and at the very least, voice conversation.  Trying to get them to understand this is like reinventing the wheel.

My stepson, as I’ve mentioned in the past, has a facebook account.  I do not agree but am not the person that counts for much say-so, therefore, has no stake in the discussion.  My son, on the other hand, is not allowed to have one.  And I am sticking with this.  I’m trying to get him to realize that it is not all it’s cracked up to be.  My stepson has so many friends, when they send him a message, if he receives it on his phone he can’t see their picture and therefore has no clue who they are by name only.  And I’m sure all his friends are the same way.  Does this sound messed up to anyone else but me?   Facebook can get pretty personal, sharing pictures, locations, every move you make.  For teens, I’ve noticed they can talk about some pretty racy topics all on their wall for all to see.  I do not agree.  Trying to have the boys understand this is like a foreign language.  They don’t see anything wrong.

Now spouting this out could be seen as a bit hypocritical, but I don’t think so.  I’m not saying anything I don’t say out loud to friends and family.  I just think social media has made us so impersonal as a society.  While seeing the pros of it, I see the cons as well.  People need to realize there’s more to life than print.  There has to be some personal contact.  Most people end up having jobs where they have to be social in person.  I just hope that I’m teaching my kids well enough.  I want them to be able to function in person with peers and adults.  Hopefully they’ll see this one day.

Leave a Reply

Cole Ryan

A Few Thoughts On Christianity

Planet Mom

Planet Mom: It's where I live...

Dreamlife Moments

...they happen every day...

Life and all things Love....

My Blog. My Life. My Words.

Random thoughts from a random mind

I don't suffer from randomness... I, obviously, quite enjoy it!!

Not a Red Head

If you like oxygen, you will like this blog

Life According to Lucy

Just my 2 cents on life

clotildajamcracker

The wacky stories of a crazy lady.

A Day In The Life Of Ana.

Where motherhood, feminism, and punk rock meet.

Life isn't so much a puzzle as it is a plan

I live. I think. I write. I shoot. Unedited.

Momto3ofherown's Blog

A rambling from another stepped on stepmom

thesexysavannah

couch surfing kinda

Run, Fat Chick! RUN!

Adventures of a Fat Chick Finding Fitness

my journey through marriage, children, college and everything in between

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

